Our generous artist donors: Franciscus Van Boxtel

If you look at the link for our auction items, you’ll see we have a tremendous number of artists. I know they get called on to donate all the time, and we’re grateful for their help. I want to highlight one in particular for his generosity.

When I’m not working on Homes with Woofs, I have a full-time job as a realtor, and a brand new listing at 95 Bronson. To get this condo ready for market,  I wanted to use original art. So I thought of Franciscus (Frank) Van Boxtel, who is one of our artist donors for Homes with Woofs. I love his stuff, and I asked if we could rent a few pieces.

Frank was happy to help but said he’d prefer I donate the money to Nelson House, which is a shelter for women. How generous is that?  He sent me photographs of several of his available pieces, together with measurements, and I chose three of the larger ones, since I had 10′ ceilings to work with. Here are two: Pax and Jester, and Lotus Blossom.

Frank Pax and JesterFrank lotus

(A third painting, Lotus for Marion, won’t save into WordPress because of its dimensions: it’s 16″ by 48″ so the program keeps saving it sideways but I can’t figure out how to rotate it.)

Anyway, here’s how they turned out in the actual space.  I used the two lotus paintings in the master bedroom where they gave the space a serene feel:

IMG_0881IMG_0889

And I used Pax and Jester in a bedroom I staged as an office.

IMG_0876IMG_0878

So, fellow realtors and stagers, when you’re staging a property, think about these artists and maybe send a little work their way, because they’re a huge part of our community and they need our support.

As mentioned, Frank will be donating a custom pet portrait to our Homes with Woofs event on June 12 at City Hall and we’ll be displaying a few of his pieces at the event as well. You can also check out his work on his website, and there are always some of his paintings hanging up in Critter Jungle at Hampton Park Plaza, where he works. You’ll be able to recognize him from this self-portrait, again with Pax and Jester.

Frank Self portrait with Pax and Jester 16x48 March 2014Thanks, Frank, so very much appreciated on both counts!  Your art really helped transform this space and we’ll look forward to displaying it at Homes with Woofs!

This entry was posted in Artist donors and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

